Guided Through Life By Divine Providence

“I am Eternal Truth, incapable of any lie. I am faithful to My promises.” – Our Lord to St. Margaret Mary

Have you given much thought to Divine Providence or how it has impacted your life? Often things happen in our life and we aren’t really sure as to why this or that happened. To have a better understanding of the meaning of Divine Providence:

The purpose, or goal, of divine providence is to accomplish the will of God. To ensure that His purposes are fulfilled, God governs the affairs of men and works through the natural order of things. The laws of nature are nothing more than a depiction of God at work in the universe. The laws of nature have no inherent power, nor do they work independently. The laws of nature are the rules and principles that God set in place to govern how things work.

This is what I believe Our Lord was saying to St. Margaret Mary, it is through his promise of never lying to us and always faithful to the promises of life eternal as long as we simply believe.
I am a convert to the Catholic Church and truly believe that this too, was an act of Divine Providence. I was born into a family to parents of different religious backgrounds. My Mother was from a rural community and worshiped in a rural Church. My Father was a “city slicker” and had attended parochial schools and was baptized Catholic. However, after the marriage, my father no longer worshiped in a church of his faith but would attend church with the family as a whole. Life was good in those days and to a child it was carefree! My mother let us visit other churches with friends and relatives and it was one of those times with a great-aunt that I knew I was destined to become Catholic. Vatican II had not yet come into play so Mass was still said in Latin but I was in awe, not by the vestments of the Priest but by how I connected within my young soul. After hearing sermons with the minister pounding his fist on the podium and raising his voice to make his message known; I was transformed at Mass by what I felt at the time to be that of holiness and a sense of feeling God’s presence. I was always an inquisitive child and I think that trait has sense transferred to my adulthood! I would ask questions relentlessly of the great-aunt in which I had attended Mass with and she did the best of her ability to explain to me as time went forward. She told me about the Rosary and it’s meaning and even gave me a small altar to place in my bedroom to put candles on. However, though at the time not fully understanding everything herself about the Catholic Faith I was instructed to give the altar back to my aunt by my mother. I soon became, sadly, bored with going to the Protestant Church as I no longer felt the connection like I had when I went to Mass. As I became a teenager and like most of you know, teen-agers at some point think they know all about everything…so I decided that I was just not going to go to church!
Bad decision! Unfortunately, like many teen-agers I fell into what is commonly referred to as the “wrong crowd.” This is not a confessional of any sorts but a means of showing you how Divine Providence led me out of the darkness.
As I reached a “mature”age, I started to seriously do some soul searching and looking at where I was at in my life. Was I pleasing God? Was I living right? By this time, I had separated myself from my family and was in a very low place or like Mother Theresa wrote about being in doubt. I was in a job that no longer made me happy for at the time I wasn’t sure what that was. I started to pray..and pray..once in a while I would think that my prayers were in vain for nothing seemed to change. One evening while driving downtown I drove past a century old Catholic Church and suddenly as if someone had flipped a switch I felt the urgent need to go to Mass and the following Sunday, I was sitting nervously in the middle of this ornate Church. I stood when the others stood and knelled when they knelled. It was on that occasion that I knew what I had to do! I called the Parish closest to my home and soon was in Catechism classes. I was belittled by those who thought was I was doing was ridiculous but I never let their words deter my intentions. I finished the classes and the following Easter was welcomed into the Church. I was elated! I finally felt that I was on the right track and then something else started to bother me, I was unhappy doing the work in which I was doing at the time. It really doesn’t matter what it was but I knew in my heart that it was not pleasing to God and that is what I wanted most in the world was to please Him and in a sense seek forgiveness for the sins of my youth. So, once again I found myself praying in earnest, often to the point of tears streaming down my face and once again…the doubt started to enter my mind. Was it really “me” having the doubts or was it Satan who was realizing he was loosing his grip on a lost soul as I no longer felt lost. This time my wait wasn’t as long as before and you know the old saying, “things don’t happen in our time but in God’s time.”
One particular day while napping I was awakened by the phone and my Aunt (by marriage) was on the other end and with an excited tone began to tell me that she thought she had met my grandmother while visiting her relative in a nursing home. I couldn’t believe my ears, I hadn’t seen my paternal grandmother nor my maternal grandparents in years…The very next day she went with me to visit her in the nursing home and guess what? Divine Providence once again became relevant and clear…It was that visit that led me to my current career as a Registered Nurse. I knew by caring for the sick, I would be able to please God with my service. Many refer to us as being “Angels” but I always scoff at that terminology and say that, “no, I am not an Angel but a servant to God.”
As my paternal grandmother lay dying, I sat beside her bed and placed the Crucifix on my Rosary upon her heart and prayed until I felt that I had swallowed a grapefruit. She would whisper, “pray for me” and I reassured her that indeed I was. I had started my nursing career in long term care but quickly and once again attribute this to Divine Providence moved to the hospital setting and I quickly applied at Catholic Hospital so I could work in a setting that reflected my faith.
I still have days where I have my doubts but they never last like they once did. I am reminded daily as I enter a patient’s room and see the Crucifix on the wall just what Our Lord sacrificed for us. I am more humbled by the suffering I see as I attribute this to the suffering Our Lord endured and it has only made my faith stronger.
One of my strongest devotions is to the Divine Mercy and I use it often when at work and caring for a terminally ill patient. As Jesus had instructed Sr.Faustina: “Unceasingly recite this chaplet that I have taught you. Whoever will recite it will receive great mercy at the hour of death…Priest will recommend it to sinners as a last hope of salvation. Even the most hardened sinners, if he recites this chaplet will receive grace from My infinite mercy…Oh what great graces I will grant to souls who will recite this chaplet…By means if of it you can ask and obtain anything if what you ask for will be compatible with My will. I want the whole world to know My infinite mercy. I want to give unimaginable graces to those who Trust [emphasis mine] My mercy.
I feel blessed by His grace and by His mercy for it is by His Divine Providence that I am able to write about this today. Never lose your Faith and hold true to the promises that Our Lord gave to St. Margaret Mary and to countless other Saints and yes even to us if we only open our hearts and accept and Trust Him for he is ever with us.

9 Comments

Filed under Divine Providence

9 responses to “Guided Through Life By Divine Providence

  1. I really loved reading your post. And reading about how you became a Catholic.I am glad you found God and what God’s plan is for you. My father and his family before him were Catholic.My ancestors came on the Ark and Dove the first ship of Catholics to Maryland. My mom was a Baptist though. When I was young my dad became a non believer and so I was not raised Catholic or anything. I was the first one in my family not to go to any Catholic school.
    Some of my sisters are Catholic. I am a non denomination Protestant. But I still care about and have many Catholic relatives.
    I believe god has a plan for us all.

  2. That was a beautiful and moving post, Erica. Divine Providence really was responsible for your conversion to Catholicism. You are right about things not happening in our time but in God’s time. I have experienced things happening on God’s time myself. (Teresamerica)

  3. Erica, what an inspired heart felt post. I pray that your witness of spiritual growth will change many hearts that long for peace and love and turn them toward Jesus Christ. I thank God for your blessed writing.

  4. Pingback: Guided Through Life By Divine Providence by Guest Editor, @EricaTwitts - ACBlogaversary Writing Contest - ACBlogaversary Guest Editor for the Day EricaTwitts - AlwaysCatholic.com

  5. Erica, I love reading stories of conversions. I loved your story!
    Happy Easter,
    Esther

  6. I’m Terri ( Rex’s wife) and he wanted me to read your blog. This was a very touching post. Thank you for sharing your story, I’m always excited to hear how God touches people’s lives. Rex and I are Catholic converts ( since 1994) and I am so grateful that I listened to the prodding of the Holy Spirit. Who knows how many other times God had tried to get me to listen to Him, but this time, I heard…………I listened………….I followed. The moment I stepped inside the church at my very first Mass………..I knew I was home.
    And I have NEVER looked back.
    Pax Christi

  7. Everything is very open with a clear explanation of the challenges.

    It was definitely informative. Your site is useful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  8. Fr. Aloysius Ezeoba

    Erica, your life and your story is a mystery. God is accomplishing a goal through you. Remain blessed in the name of Jesus Christ.

  9. Pete Sharkey

    Erica, what you’ve shared has given me a renewed sense of hope that I have not missed my chance at receiving the grace and forgiveness of God Our Father through His Son Jesus Christ and then, like you, that I may somehow help others along the way.
    I pray that St. Michael & St. Agatha watch over you on your journey. And when your time does come, a very long time from now I hope, my Irish ancestors would have me bless you with, “May you be in heaven a half an hour before the devil knows your dead.” God bless!

Leave a Reply

